Our History

We’ve made many changes over the past 110+ years, but the one constant over time is the maximum effort given to raise the level of service offered to our customers. After all, we realize we wouldn’t be here without customers like you.


  • Today:

    The combined First Security Bank & Trust organization has total assets in excess of $456 million with locations in 14 North Central Iowa communities - a big difference from our humble beginnings. All the while, our mission has remained the same.
  • 2009:

    In 2009, First Security Bank & Trust merged with First State Bank of Nora Springs and First State Bank of Riceville, all members of the bank's holding company. This merger expanded our branch radius to include Floyd, Howard, Chickasaw, Butler, Worth, Cerro Gordo, and Mitchell Counties.
  • 2007:

    Kurt Herbrechtsmeyer was elected bank president, following J.R. (Dick) Herbrechtsmeyer who served as the bank's President since 1994. By this time, the still locally owned and independent First Security Bank & Trust served a large portion of North Iowa with branches in Charles City, Aredale, Dumont, Ionia, Marble Rock, and Rockford.


  • Late 1940:

    The bank's ownership passed hands from Ellis and Ellis to Ralph Zastrow, E.L. (Jim) Wallaser, W.A. Herbrechtsmeyer, and Merten J. Klaus. This ownership is currently maintained by their heirs, who are actively involved in bank management, board membership, and holding company representation.
  • 1935:

    Officially acquired our first branch office in Marble Rock.
  • September 30, 1929:

    Security Trust and Savings Bank and the First National Bank of Charles City consolidated to form First Security Bank & Trust, the largest bank in the Charles City area.
  • July 14, 1903:

    The Security Trust and Savings Bank first opened its doors for business in the Ellis Block in Charles City, Iowa. With capital stock of just $50,000 and deposits of $25,449, we certainly had humble beginnings.